State Testing

starhead

As many of you know, State Testing is a very busy and stressful time for many teachers, parents, administration, and students!  My school district is about one week away from the beginning of our testing window, but I know many of you are already testing – Good Luck!  Throughout the entire school year we have been preparing our kids for these few days of testing, and it will “show what our kids know!”  I agree and disagree with that statement.  I do believe testing is important and beneficial to students and teachers, but it shouldn’t be the “end all – be all!”  I know during this week ahead, I will be spiral reviewing almost everything we have learned/taught this year and the students will try to refresh their memories or hopefully some will get that “light bulb moment” as we review key concepts.  I try to be as positive as I can be and encourage them along the way.  In the past couple years I have incorporated a couple songs and videos to get them motivated to do the best on the test.  Here are a couple things I have done with my class/school, please feel free to show and share with your friends and students!

CST Song & Video

Our school also uses an instrumental version of Taio Cruz’s song “Dynamite” and I have created new lyrics for our state test to encourage the kids to do their best on the test!

Here are the lyrics – Dynamite – CST Lyrics

It’s time to rock the test and show what we know!!  Good luck everyone!  I would love to hear about how you get your students ready for state testing or any motivational tactics you use.  I look forward to your comments!

Leave a Reply

