California Missions Project

CA_MissionsThis week I want to share something slightly different.  Across California 4th graders are working on their California Missions Project.  If you lived here in California, you probably remember doing them as a child.  Since I have been teaching 4th grade the past 7 years, I have always made it a point to give my students different options when doing their project.  By that I mean I have given my students choices – making a models, posters, dioramas, picture collages, etc.  But, this year I have decided to have my students really take it up a notch.  They will be completing two portions – one arts & crafts activity and one technology activity.  Here is the link to my Activity Sheets (English – Spanish).  The technology activities include a few web tools that you should look into incorporating in your class and have your students play and have fun with them.  I have added Prezi (www.prezi.com), which is a FREE online presentation software, think of it as PowerPoint on steroids!  Two new activities I have added this year are Minecraft (www.minecraft.net)  and Sketch-Up (http://www.sketchup.com/intl/en/) to create virtual models of their mission.  Also, I have added Microsoft Photo Story (http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=11132) to make a digital story.  I can’t wait to see how my class does with this project and the new technology requirements.  Feel free to customize the project for yourself and let me know how your projects turn out!

One thought on “California Missions Project

  1. Pingback: Las Misiones | The Joys of Being a Language Teacher

Leave a Reply

